Search Site

Testimonials

Profile image
My wife and i had a great days walking with John who geared the pace of the walk really well to suit our level of fitness. He was very knowledgable on local fauna and history which he presented without being patronising or overbearing. Great investment in a stunning days walking without the worry of reading a map or following a guide book. Thanks John Tony Palmer
Rating
Placed on 23 May 2018
Profile image
Thoroughly enjoyed the climb with our guide John. As a novice climber John took all the stress out of the climb and I was able to really enjoy the day without having to think about which way to go or using a map or compass. He also pointed out different points of interest and the whole day was very relaxed. I'll definitely book again. Thanks Vaughan Daly
Rating
Placed on 17 May 2018
Profile image
Having benefited hugely from Neil's patience and wisdom as a guide up Scafell Pike last year we decided to go on a beginner's navigation course with him this year. We had a fantastic day out learning a huge amount about maps, compasses and how to observe the terrain around us to find our way. Neil was hugely knowledgeable, long-suffering as we jumped around with our questions, and great fun to be with. We loved it and felt vastly more confident as a result of our day. The next three days' walking around and about Derwent Water were even more enjoyable as as result. Thank you! Eva Beazley
Rating
Placed on 15 May 2018
Profile image
My first time with TheLakeDistrictWalker. Website easy to use. Reassuring to read all the very good reviews. I am new to scrambling and thought I would start with Striding Edge before hopefully moving on to greater things. Went on Sunday 6 May. There were three other walkers. All good company of a similar standard of ability more or less, to me. John was the guide and led us up the hill often away from the well trodden path, seamlessly taking us up what he knew what was the best route, keeping us entertained with factual information, the features of the views we were looking over, the hills, the towns and rivers we could see in the distance. Being apprehensive beforehand on going up such great height is common. My fears went away on being led across the ridge by someone who knew it. Its really worth the inexpensive fee. The people there without a guide were often making a mess of it, half arete, half path, on their bottoms etc. We went confidently across the entire rock ridge and onto a splendid descent of Swirral Edge and up Catsty Cam. A beautiful sunny day too. Douglas Rattray
Rating
Placed on 8 May 2018
Profile image
I religiously climb each year with you and without exception the experience is excellent. Each guide is very well trained , but a common theme is their understanding of the group dynamic and needs. This year climbing Scarfell I was not in best shape so the long descent took its toll... Our guide who works three days a week as an occupational therapist with young people was exceptional and a credit to your team. Thank You Victor Victor Ktori
Rating
Placed on 7 May 2018
Profile image
Both my daughter and I thoroughly enjoyed our walk up Lingmell and then on to Scawfell Pike with Neil and the rest of our group. Neil is extremely knowledgeable and kept the group together despite our varying abilities. I have walked with Neil before and he has given me the incentive to attempt all the 'Wainwrights' in the next few years when I can escape work and manage the long drive North from Wiltshire. Christa Lossin
Placed on 3 May 2018
Profile image
Hi. My mate (Lee) and I hiked to the summit of Helvellyn, via Striding Edge (and down Swirrel Edge), last Thursday (26/04/18) with a small group and TJ as our guide. The hike was fantastic. A proper Lake District experience. Striding Edge was, as expected, both terrifying and exhilarating. We also had proper Lake District weather, four seasons in one day (and yes, that does include snow). The group of people also gelled really well which made the experience all the better. Thanks for a great day... Joe Devlin
Rating
Placed on 1 May 2018
Profile image
Had an excellent day walking up Helvellyn with Paul via Striding Edge .. although 3 of our group were nervous about the ridge Paul was excellent and guiding us all the way. His knowledge and expertise was second to none. The views were amazing and worth the hard work and determination to do the ridge. Cant wait for the next one. Karen Smith
Rating
Placed on 1 May 2018
Profile image
Thank you Sam Marsland. You are a superb guide, fulfilling you duties more than amply: a true professional. Your knowledge of the terrain, trekking and understanding of human frailties stood you in good stead for helping me complete the trek. I have climbed Mts Snowdon (twice), the Ben and Kilimanjaro (though was too ill to summit), but the terrain at Scafell Pike was unexpected and challenging; I also lacked energy and my mojo had gone AWOL. So I was not in the best shape, mentally or physically to trek up a mountain. But Sam you got all that and with patience, calm and encouragement got me through it. I don’t think I could have scrambled up the ravines without your calm voice encouraging me and strong hands supporting my ankle. So, whilst on Saturday I was struggling, with unlimited expletives flying around in my head and I kept promising myself I would NEVER climb another mountain, today I am looking for which mountain to climb next! And it's a great deal down to you. So thank you again Sam Marsland..... From a very grateful Diksha Diksha Chakravarti
Rating
Placed on 30 April 2018
Profile image
Thank you so much for the amazing walk up High Street We had glorious weather andRachel our guide was a treasure She was friendly ,informative,calm and encouraged and inspired me when I was struggling. Along with two other wonderful members in the group I completed the walk. The views and scenery spectacular and Rachel a gem. The walk was on my bucket list and I have completed it so thank you again you provide a brilliant service. Gill Sloan
Rating
Placed on 22 April 2018