Search Site

Testimonials

Profile image
We had a fantastic day yesterday walking up from Tarn Hows to Black Fell and Holme Fell. The views were stunning and the help and support given by TLDW was superb. It was a very interesting route with some beautiful views and a day we will always remember. Thanks to TLDW. Nigel and Marion McCormick
Placed on 17 May 2019
Profile image
After our first attempt at Helvellyn and Striding Edge was abandoned 7 years ago, and the fact that I am not good with heights, we decided to have a guide for this attempt. We met our group at Glenridding and our guide Paul. He briefed us as the weather forecast was not good and asked us regarding any concerns he should be aware of. We started our walk. An enjoyable ascent, with plenty of history and anecdotal information from Paul. When we arrived at Striding Edge the clouds cleared, the wind dropped and the sun came out. Paul planned our traverse and was brilliant. He managed to keep me confident and my fears at bay. He assisted me (and the group down the chimney) with foot and hand holds in the rock. He gave me that reassurance that my fears required and got me and the group safely through Striding Edge. We successfully reached the top of Helvellyn and was down the craggy rocks on the other side, heading round the Tarn before the weather hit us with hailstones, thunder and a bit of lightening. I would like to thank Paul for getting me through this climb and would recommend a guide for Striding Edge (TLDW). Thank you, would not have done it without you. Dawn Dawn Gaforg
Rating
Placed on 6 May 2019
Profile image
My second trip with TLDW - this time Lingmoor Fell and Cathedral Cavern. Neil and I agreed that the best Lake District experience is not necessarily always to be found on the highest peaks and fells. This trip was the evidence. A beautiful Spring day - May Day actually - wild flowers, lambs abundant - misty rain pretty abundant too, but only partially and occasionally obscuring the view. Neil was so informed and enlightening - there was scarcely a topic that passed without his cultivated opinion and believe me the topics were diverse - flora, fauna, cultural, social and industrial history, geology, topography, etymology and more. Such a massive contribution to a very enjoyable day. I was delighted to just walk along and absorb it all. Oh, and of course, also enthusiastic, professional, confident and reassuring. Such a memorable day, thank you . Martin Smith
Rating
Placed on 1 May 2019
Profile image
Ross was our guide up Helvellyn via Striding Edge. The weather was magnificent and brought into view Solway Firth to Morecambe Bay, Ullswater (and beyond) to Wasdale (and beyond.) An alarming number of peaks that each prompted Ross for an anecdote or witty comment or other observation (some serious) to keep the day flowing. He took special care with each of us particularly as we descended The Chimney and ensured he never overlooked or outpaced any of us. This was my first guided trip and thanks to Ros and TLDW it will not be my last. A tremendous day out. Thanks again. Martin Smith
Rating
Placed on 1 May 2019
Profile image
A wonderful day climbing Helvellyn via Striding Edge in winter conditions before descending via Swirral Edge. Thank you to John for leading the three of us so skilfully. I shall remember this walk for a long time to come. Marcus Chapman
Placed on 4 April 2019
Profile image
A great private guided day was had by all in our group of four. The weather wasn’t kind with heavy rain and strong winds at times but the expert knowledge and friendly manner of our guide Ian more than made up for it and the views and scenery were stunning. Colin Donovan
Placed on 9 March 2019
Profile image
Had a fantastic day with Mark walking Patterdale to High Street. A very long day with heavy rain winds and quite deep snow in places but also a thoroughly enjoyable and rewarding day with fantastic views and a great guide. Colin Donovan
Rating
Placed on 9 March 2019
Profile image
Excellent day. This is my second event and once again I have had a great day. Stephen Spooner
Placed on 3 March 2019
Profile image
I joined the team at elterwater for beginners map reading and navigation skills Met by Ian and Corrine From the outset I knew this would be a great day We split into two teams and from the off Corrine was on a mission and at the end I was surprised as I had learnt skills life skills in a simple and easy manner My our team was chatty and all engaging So if looking for a great day out and to learn a number of skills sign up as you will love it Lee Goodwin
Find us on , Twitter
Rating
Placed on 27 January 2019
Profile image
I had a great day out with John, wlking from Seathwaite up to the foot of Great End and learning 'winter skills'. The conditions weren't ideal (though not far off!), but John was a great instructor, responding to our needs/wants and managing to find suitable areas for us to learn and practice our skills. I cetainly achievd my aims (learning how to move safely on the snowy fells, using crampons and wielding an ice axe.) I piced 'The Lake District Waker' partly because they loan the necessary kit - so I could try winter hiking before I invest in crampons and axe. It was all great and I really ejoyed the whole day. Many thanks. Ian
Rating
Placed on 25 January 2019